Date #16

My first date with the new format: I ditched the rule about having to find a new cuisine or restaurant.

I had asked another lovely Italian lady. I was pretty happy she agreed to go on a date with me as I have been going through a bit of a dry spell lately. I was really looking forward to this date. She is lovely to dance with, so I figured it would be interesting to get to know her a bit better off the dance floor.

I decided to let her pick the restaurant and she asks me if I know Pepenero. I tell her I took my last date there and the food had been great. We decide to go there again: there are around 50 tables in that place and of course they seat us at the exact same table as on the previous date.

We start by talking about her job. She is a postdoc who has worked in multiple fields. When she tells me about work it becomes clear that she is thriving in engineering, a field that is usually male dominated and rife with sexism. Yet she seems to be able to navigate it with ease. I am pretty impressed. I already knew she was intelligent and confident but I had not anticipated this level of work ethos and ambition. She clearly is going places.

The food is once again excellent. It was so good that I forgot to take a picture, or at least that is my excuse this time.

Time flies by as we finish our food and order some tea. We talk about a lot of things, like dealing with sexism at the workplace and my piece on #wijoverdrijvenniet. The conversation flows smoothly from one topic to the next and we decide to leave when they are closing the restaurant. I had a great time again.

I consider myself lucky that I have gotten to know so many amazing people in the last couple of months. I hope I can continue this winning streak until the last date! I still have no idea where I am going to find the remaining dates but that will not stop me from trying. I will keep you all posted!

Food: Risotto ai Funghi at Pepenero with tea after (around €25 in total). High quality Italian food made and recommended by actual Italians.

Leave a Reply

